VLA Scholarships

2020 Scholarship Winners Announced

The VLA Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce the 2020 scholarship recipients. Congratulations to Sonya Coleman, Amanda Lawson, and Sinead Tanner on their academic excellence and dedication to the field of Library Science.

View the current and past scholarship winners by clicking on the buttons below.


The Virginia Library Association awards two $2500 scholarships for students pursuing a Masters degree in Library Science at ALA accredited schools.  One of these, the Clara Stanley Scholarship, is awarded by the VLA Professional Associates Forum (VLAPAF). Another is sponsored by the Virginia Public Library Directors Association (VPLDA).

Eligibility Requirements

  • Residence in the state of Virginia or currently employed in a Virginia Library.
  • Undergraduate degree.
  • Acceptance by, or currently enrolled in, an American Library    Association accredited library school.  MUST be earning a Master of Library Science Degree. Membership in the Virginia Library Association. Click here to become a student member. Annual fee is $15.00
  • For the Clara Stanley VLAPAF Scholarship: current employment at a Virginia library is required.

Judging Criteria

  • Evidence of commitment to a career in librarianship in Virginia
  • Financial need
  • Potential for outstanding achievement in the library profession
  • Academic excellence
  • Membership in the Virginia Library Association

Show your support 

Support continuing excellence in Virginia's libraries by donating to the VLA Scholarship Fund now:

Click here to donate to VLA

For more information, contact:
Lisa R. Varga
VLA Executive Director
[email protected]