Scholarship Committee


The Virginia Library Association awards two $2500 scholarships for students pursuing a Masters degree in Library Science at ALA accredited schools.  One of these, the Clara Stanley Scholarship, is awarded by the VLA Professional Associates Forum (VLAPAF). Another is sponsored by the Virginia Public Library Directors Association (VPLDA).

Submit completed application by e-mail to Lisa Varga at [email protected]

Deadline for application packets to be received by VLA: April 5, 2019

2019 Scholarship Application

The VLA Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce the 2019 scholarship winners. Congratulations to Melinda Manuel, Chelsea Seddon and Bonnie Shaw on their academic excellence and dedication to the field of Library Science. To learn more about VLA scholarships, visit our Scholarships page

2020 Committee Member Roster

Committee Information

Purpose: To provide support to Association members who seek to advance their education in the field of librarianship.

Leadership: The 2019 VLA Scholarship Committee is chaired by Michael Hibben of Roanoke County Public Library.

Learn more about VLA Scholarships

Interested in learning about and applying for our scholarships? Visit the VLA Scholarship page for more information.