Meet A Member: Lee Criscuolo

Lee CriscuoloWhere do you work?
I work at the England Run branch of the Central Rappahannock Regional Library System. It is a beautiful building with lots of natural light pouring in and wonderful co-workers and customers.

What is your current position?
I'm an adult research librarian.

When did you first know that you wanted to be a librarian?
My mother has a crayon drawing that I did when I was five years old. It showed a woman at a desk with giant book shelves all around, and printed in crayon the caption "I want to be a libarian." I assume I meant librarian. Then I forgot that ambition for many years. I wanted to be an astronaut (didn't work out) and I ran my own horseback riding school for years. Homeschooling my children frequently took me to the local library, where I eventually volunteered, then worked part time, finally earning my MLS and going full time.

What was your first library job?
My first library job was working one four-hour shift per week at the circulation desk.

What is your favorite part of librarianship?
My favorite part of being a librarian is helping people. We help them find the information or entertainment they want, help them learn to use computers and other technology, help them with job-seeking skills, creating resumes, and so many other things. We provide a community space where people come together to create, pursue common interests, hear music, make friends, and work.

What is the funniest thing that has ever happened to you on the job?
One time I was in the stacks and my slip completely fell off out from under my skirt. I guess it's elastic wasn't working. I just stepped out of it, picked it up, and went in the back to look for safety pins.

If you could have anything in the universe installed in your office for your personal use, what would it be?
I already have a large window which would have been my number one pick. Since I already have that, I'd love to have a nice cat to pet when things get stressful.

What is something your colleagues would be surprised to know about you?
Some of them may still not know that I live in a solar powered geodesic dome, and that I have a goat and a hive of bees. I can also ride a unicycle though not very well.

Interview conducted by Gregg Grunow.
Want to be featured on Meet A Member? E-mail Gregg at [email protected].
Don't miss our past Meet a Member features!