Announcing the VLA Scholarship fundraiser in memory of CDR Alexander C. Varga, United States Navy

It is with great sadness that we report the passing of CDR Alexander C. Varga, husband of VLA Executive Director Lisa R. Varga, shortly before the holiday season in 2018.  Those of you who know Lisa know how tirelessly she works to ensure the Virginia Library Association remains one of the most vibrant and successful state library associations in the United States, for which Alex always provided his unwavering encouragement and support.

The Virginia Library Association has been providing scholarships to library school students in the Commonwealth of Virginia since 1991.  In this spirit, and with an effort to express appreciation for Lisa and her family, we are happy to announce the establishment of an additional VLA scholarship in memory of CDR Alexander C. Varga.  

Initially a grassroots effort to surprise Lisa with the funding for a single $2500 scholarship, we received an overwhelmingly positive response and are well on our way to fully funding a second $2500 scholarship to support students pursuing a Master’s degree in Library and Information Science at an ALA-accredited program!

While we were unable to reach out to everyone during our initial word-of-mouth campaign, we never forgot that there are many more members of VLA who may want to donate to this fundraising effort.  We would love to raise enough money to complete the second $2500 fundraising goal, and perhaps even a third!  

If you would like to participate in this fundraiser, please visit our online donation page or mail checks made out to the Virginia Library Association, with “Varga Scholarship” in the memo line to designate this as a gift separate from the general donations.  Your contributions are tax-deductible, and checks can be mailed to:

Virginia Library Association
PO Box 56312
Virginia Beach, VA 23456

Matthew Todd, Dean of Learning & Technology Resources at Northern Virginia Community College; VLA Past President 2011 and
Lisa Lee Broughman, Director of the Lipscomb Library at Randolph College; VLA Past President 2013